Roasted butternut squash soup

butternut-squash-soup
All the veggies are roasted together to give them a richer taste.

Once again I have neglected this blog. Work and school keeps taking up most of my time. What I have had time with however,has been to try to continue on my live healthier journey. It’s not easy to make time to cook a good healthy meal when you are so busy so that is why I have been trying to find recipes to cook over the weekend that can be frozen and used later.

Soups seem to be the best choice for this. I have always liked butternut squash soup but have never found a good recipe to make myself. That is until now. This is a roasted butternut squash soup I found from Mary Berry’s Foolproof cooking. The soup is out of this world, that is all I have to say. You definitely need to try it to understand how good it is. The roasted vegetables work so well together, it’s absolutely amazing.

Recipe: 

1 small butternut squash , about 700-800g

1 red pepper

1 red onion 

1-2 caarrots  (I am not a huge fan of carrots in soups so I only used 1 in my recipe)

1 clove of garlic 

A few rosemary springs

About 900ml of vegetable stock (Depending on how thick you want your soup you may want to add more or less of the stock)

A chunk of ginger (I say a chunk because some people like ginger more and some like it more. I used a bit less than in the original recipe)

Oil

Put oven on 200c/180c fan

Peel and cube the butternut squash and carrots. Cube the pepper, chop the onion and garlic. Put it all in a bag with some oil +salt&pepper  and the rosemary leaves. Shake it about to make sure the oil and seasoning gets on all the vegetables. Pour it out onto a large baking pan and bake for 40-50 min until the veggies look roasted. Chop up the ginger and fry in some oil. When done add the stock and let it boil up, adding all the roasted vegetables in afterwards. Take of heat and use any kitchen gadget you may have to blitz it up. I let my soup cool down and then used my smoothie maker on it. Worked great! But just remember that if you are doing so you have to wait for it to cool down.

You can find the original recipe here: Roasted butternut squash soup

roasted-butternut-squash-soup
Some toast or other kind of toasted bread is good to have with the soup.

I did add some rosemary and garlic to my veggies while roasting them as I think rosemary adds a bit of taste to roasted vegetables and i like to put garlic in anything 😉

Cheers!

*All the photos in this post are my own, the recipe does not belong to me I am simply just sharing it.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Roasted butternut squash soup

  1. Pingback: Roasted butternut squash soup – A Swede in London

Leave a Reply

